General Information

What are the sections on the TEAS, what skills will be assessed and how much time is allowed on each section of the TEAS?
The test is taken on a computer. The questions are generally multiple choice style with four options. Each test section consists of several pages with roughly five questions per page. When you have answered the questions, select the “Next” button in the lower part of the screen to move to additional questions. You can review previous pages, but once you move to a new subject (example-from reading to math), you cannot return. 

Section Time
Reading 55 minutes - 45 items   
Mathematics 57 minutes - 38 items 
English 37 minutes - 37 items 
Science 60 minutes - 50 items 
Total Time 209 minutes  (3.48 hours)
  1. The Math section consists of two categories: Numbers and algebra (18 questions) and Measurement and data (16 questions).
  2. The Reading section consists of three categories: Key ideas and details (15 questions); Craft and structure (9 questions) and Integration of knowledge and ideas (15 questions).
  3. The English and Language Usage section consists of three categories: Conventions of standard English (12 questions); Knowledge of language (11 questions) and Using language and vocabulary to express ideas in writing (10 questions). 
  4. The Science section consists of four categories: Human anatomy and physiology (18 questions); Biology (9 questions); Chemistry (8 questions); Scientific reasoning (9 questions).
  5. Concentrate first on learning the content material for each section in the TEAS 7 Study Manual. Then do the practice questions.
  6. The TEAS exam is about 'application of knowledge'.  Your current college grade point does not determine your success on the TEAS. Nursing requires familiarity and application of knowledge you were introduced to in middle and high school. Review and mastery of this information and accompanying skills is needed.
  7. The TEAS exam is required to apply to the Nursing Program. 
  8. Each test is different. Your screen will be different from others.
  9. A calculator icon is provided in the top right corner of the screen during the Math portion of the exam.  You must click on the calculator icon to open and use the calculator.  This icon can be moved around the screen and minimized when not in use.
  10. Two pieces of labeled scrap paper will be provided to you before your test begins.
  11. There is no penalty for guessing. Unanswered questions are scored as incorrect.
  12. Pace yourself.
  13. Taking less time in one section does not give you more time in another.
  14. Your TEAS Total Score must be equivalent to, or greater than, the Proficient Level to be eligible to apply to the A.S. Nursing program. Higher scores do not give you admission priority.
  15. A copy of your results will be given to you at the end of the test.
  16. Passing scores on the TEAS exam are good for three (3) years from the exam date unless the ASN program admission requirements change and/or ATI makes the next version of the exam available.
  17. SCF Nursing will accept qualified TEAS 6 scores until August 28, 2023.
  18. Students have three (3) attempts to test into or exceed the Proficient Level within one calendar year.  There is a thirty (30) day mandatory waiting period between attempts.
Page Edit