Private Investigator Intern & Security Officer Training
Private Investigator Intern - Part I (24 hours)
This 24-hour course provides the basic information on becoming a licensed private investigator. Information includes regulation of the industry, department rules, licensing criteria and techniques of investigation. This course qualifies applicants to apply for a private investigator's internship through the Florida Division of Licensing. This class meets the state licensing requirements to earn the Private Investigator Intern license. (Beginning January 1, 2012, students will have to complete the 40 hours of course work before they can apply to the state for licensure)
Private Investigator Intern CC - Part 2 (16 hours)
This course includes advanced field operations and techniques for surveillance; bodyguard and executive protection; trial preparation and courtroom testimony; accident, arson and maritime investigations; and collection and preservation of evidence. This course is required for those applying for licensure as a Florida Private Investigator Intern. This class completes the state licensure for the Private Investigator license.
This class is a 40 hour course which prepares the individual to pass the licensure test to become a security officer. The class is divided into two classroom settings: 24 hours (Part 1) and 16 hours (Part 2), the individual has to complete the 40 hours before applying for licensure.
Security Officer Training - Part I (24-hour)
Security Officer Training - Part 2 (16-hour)
If you answer "yes" to any of the following questions, you will not be able to register for the class. If you have a question about any of the questions, contact the Department of Agriculture/Division of Licensing to have the staff determine if you are eligible to obtain a license (941-575-5770):
- Has a court ever adjudicated you incompetent?
- Have you even been involuntarily placed in a treatment facility for mental illness?
- Are you a chronic and habitual user of alcoholic beverages to the extent your normal faculties are impaired?
- Have you ever been sent to a treatment facility by the Marchman Act.
- Have you ever been arrested for disorderly Intoxication?
- Have you been arrested for DUI within the last 3 years?
- Have you been committed for controlled substance abuse?
- Have you been found guilty of a crime related to controlled substances within the last 3 years?
- Have you ever been convicted of a crime?
- Are you a current or retired law enforcement officer?
To qualify for this training, you must be a citizen or resident alien of the United States, be at least 18 and have no felony convictions. Successful completion of the 40-hour course, enables you to apply for a Class D license. (Beginning January 1, 2012, students will have to complete the 40 hours before applying to the state for licensure)