Theatre Honorary Fraternity Presents Awards

(Bradenton, Fla., May 18, 2009) - The Manatee Community College (MCC) chapter of Delta Psi Omega, a national theatre honorary fraternity for community colleges, held its 43rd Annual Awards Banquet on May 8. 

Kenneth Erickson Jr., director of the MCC theatre program presented 11 awards for acting and technical achievement in the past season.Dean Anthony, lecturer, fine and performing arts, inducted four students into the fraternity. Retired faculty members John W. James and M. Bernice Pepke awarded their annual scholarships to Mariana Rocha and Jenna Gagliano.

For their roles in "The Servant of Two Masters," award winners were Rocha, Outstanding Supporting Actress; Gagliano, Outstanding Character Actress; Dayton Sinkia, Outstanding Leading Actor and Adam Condor, Outstanding Cameo Performance. For her role in "Design for Murder," Megan Kroger received the Outstanding Leading Actress and Outstanding Technical Achievement award. For their roles in "The One That Got Away," award winners were Michael Jorgensen, Outstanding Supporting Actor and Zachary Yowarski, Outstanding Character Actor. Yowarski also was named Outstanding Supporting Actor for "Ah, Wilderness." Jorgensen was inducted into Delta Psi Omega along with Rachael Bayor, Richard Austin, winner of the Outstanding Technical Achievement Award, and Brittany Miller, who was named Most Promising Newcomer.

Also attending the ceremony were Dr. John Rosen, former vice president of academic affairs; James Thaggard, box office manager; Ted Camp, chair, fine and performing arts professor, Craig Smith, instructional assistant, fine and performing arts; James Condor, professor, mathematics; Melodie Dickerson, instructor, music, fine and performing arts; Rex Willis, faculty member, music, fine and performing arts and Jan Van Wart, auditorium support specialist.


Page Edit