2008 Math ACES Winners Announced

(Bradenton, Fla., April 22, 2008) - Top students from public and private high schools in Manatee and Sarasota counties recently participated in the annual Math ACES competition. Each participating school's top scorer is recognized in a ceremony at his or her school and receives a $100 cash award and a plaque at the school's senior awards assembly.

Math ACES winners and their respective high schools in Manatee County are Cory Scheiderman (Bayshore); John Mark Quick (Palmetto); Matt Talbert (Southeast); Robert Bieber (Manatee); and Lee Stratton (St. Stephen's.) 

Winners from Sarasota County schools are Shelly Hagerman (Booker); Derek Jordan (North Port); Chen Ye (Pineview); Josh Hurwitz (Riverview); Vaughn Warrelmann (Sarasota Military Academy); Steven Corrigan (Venice); and Olivia Bowers (Out-of-Door Academy).

The exam is sponsored by the American Society of Civil Engineers, the Manatee Community College (MCC) Foundation, the Education Foundation of Sarasota County and the Sarasota Council of Teachers of Mathematics. Exams were created by the MCC Math Department and administered and graded by MCC mathematics professors Catherine Panik and Dr. Stacie WIlliams.

Page Edit