Theatre Honorary Fraternity Presents Awards

(Bradenton, Fla., May 9, 2007) -- The Manatee Community College (MCC) chapter of Delta Psi Omega, a national theatre honorary fraternity for community colleges, held its 41st Annual Awards Banquet April 29 at MCC Bradenton.  Kenneth Erickson Jr., director of the theatre program, inducted 10 students into the fraternity and presented 10 awards for acting and technical achievement in the past season.

Retired faculty members John W. James and M. Bernice Pepke awarded scholarships to Ryan Dowd Urch, who was named Outstanding Leading Actor for his role in the play, Children of the Day. Kali Blankenship was named Outstanding Leading Actress for Close Ties. Moira Carroll was named Outstanding Supporting Actress for Close Ties and Outstanding Character Actress for The Rimers of Eldritch. Dayton Sinkia was named Outstanding Supporting Actor for The Rimers of Eldritch and also received the Most Promising Newcomer Award. Kyle Biss and Colin Brady shared the award for Outstanding Character Actor for their roles in Dearly Beloved. Jennifer Warber and Molly Healy were recognized for Outstanding Technical Achievements. Brady, Sinkia, Warber, Kira Borrowdale, Maggie Jewell, Aaron Koch, Cassie Magnuson and Michael Ridgewell were inducted into Delta Psi Omega.

Also attending the ceremony were Dr. John Rosen, vice president of academic affairs; Darlene Wedler-Johnson, dean of instruction, arts and letters & social and behavioral sciences; Ted Camp, professor, art; Dean Anthony, lecturer, fine and performing arts; Craig Smith, instructional assistant, fine and performing arts; Ann Hoffman, academic department secretary; and James Thaggard, box office manager.

Page Edit