2007 Math ACES Winners Announced

(Bradenton, Fla., April 5, 2007) - Top students from public and private high schools in Manatee and Sarasota counties recently participated in the annual Math ACES competition. Each participating school's top scorer is recognized in a ceremony at his or her school and receives a $100 cash award and a plaque, which are presented at their school's senior awards assembly.

Math ACES winners and their respective high schools in Manatee County are Brian Frey (Lakewood Ranch); David Tyson (Manatee); Mia Detwiler (Bayshore); Justin King (Palmetto); Adeline Dozois (Southeast); and Stephanie Benardo (Bradenton Christian).

Winners from Sarasota County schools are Michael MacDermott (Booker); Kristyna Betts (North Port); Eric Allseits (Pineview); Jaclyn Wright (Riverview); Nicholas Gissal (Venice); and Adam Montgomery (Out-of-Door Academy).

The exam is sponsored by the American Society of Civil Engineers, the Manatee Community College (MCC) Foundation, the Education Foundation of Sarasota County and the Sarasota Council of Teachers of Mathematics. Exams were created by the MCC Math Department and administered and graded by MCC mathematics professors Catherine Panik and Dr. Joni Pirnot.

Page Edit