MCC Theatre Honorary Presents Awards

(Bradenton, Fla., May 10, 2006) -- The Manatee Community College (MCC) chapter of Delta Psi Omega, a national theatre honorary fraternity for community colleges, held its 40th Annual Awards Banquet May 3 onstage in the John W. James Studio Theatre at MCC Bradenton.  Kenneth Erickson Jr., director of the theatre program, inducted six students into the fraternity and presented 11 awards for acting and technical achievement in the past season.

For their roles in Everything in the Garden, award winners are Joshua Fishbein, Outstanding Actor; Molly Healy, Outstanding Actress; and Adam Condor, Outstanding Supporting Actor. For their roles in Heaven Can Wait, award-winners are Jennifer Woll, Outstanding Supporting Actress; Kali Blankenship, Outstanding Character Actress; and Cassie Magnuson, Outstanding Cameo Actress.  Fishbein also was named Outstanding Cameo Actor and Ben Adams was named Outstanding Character Actor for their roles in London Suite. Outstanding Technical Achievement awards went to Woll and Kennedy Cranford. Nathan James was named Most Promising Newcomer and was inducted into Delta Psi Omega along with Cranford, Fishbein, Matt DeSear, K. S. Klos, and Stephanie Troyer.

Also attending the ceremony were Dr. John Rosen, vice president of academic affairs; Darlene Wedler-Johnson, dean of instruction, arts and letters & social and behavioral sciences; Dr. Charles Turon, chair, fine and performing arts; Dean Anthony, lecturer, fine and performing arts; Craig Smith, instructional assistant, fine and performing arts; Ann Hoffman, academic department secretary; James Thaggard, box office manager; James Condor, professor, mathematics; and MCC theatre department retirees John W. James and Bernice Pepke.

Page Edit