MCC Honors Students Recognized

(Bradenton, Fla., April 28, 2006) - Members of the Manatee Community College (MCC) Spring 2006 graduating class and other students who excelled scholastically or through service to their college and community were recognized in Honors Convocation ceremonies held Friday, April 28, at MCC Bradenton and MCC Venice. Students were awarded a total of $85,350 collegewide.

Award Recipients at MCC Bradenton Honors Convocation

Eight students received Beverly Beall and R. Kemp Riechmann Foundation scholarships, each of which is renewable for a second year. Recipients of $4,000 awards (for the first year) are Ashley Betti, Maria Lake, Roberta Rodgers and Anthony Wright Jr. Other award winners are Micheal Mays and Rosa Molina ($3,000 each), and sister and brother Adina Mears and Lee Mears ($2,000 each).

Kim Johnston won a $1,500 Frank H. Spain University of South Florida (USF) transfer award, also renewable for a second year. Other MCC Bradenton students who will be transferring to USF, with scholarship assistance from USF, are 2006 All-Florida Academic Team members Adam Warcewicz (first team) and Jessica Karacia (second team).

Certificates were awarded to seven members of the award-winning Brain Bowl team, whichplaced second in regional competition. Team member Paul Schreiber was named to the Florida State Brain Bowl's All-Tournament Team with the second highest score in the competition. He went on to place 30th among more than 300 players in National Academic Quiz Team tournament competition. Other team members are Sarah Fazioli, Rogelio Garza, Chris Handy-Honeycutt, Gary Romano, Geoffrey Silpa and Bryan Tupper.

Students who won MCC Image awards in recognition of their ability to overcome barriers to their success in college are Blanca Benites, Angelee Hendry, Sara Heristchi, Samira Jemmoua, Jerry Joseph and Kimberly Washington.

Award Recipients at MCC Venice Honors Convocation

            Nisha Cleamey was recognized as an Outstanding International Student and an Outstanding Student in Art, and won a $1,500 Frank H. Spain USF transfer scholarship that is renewable for a second year. Tran Bui and Peggy O'Connor also will transfer to USF with scholarship assistance as 2006 All-Florida Academic Team members.

            Michael Hudson and Marta Klisinska each won a $4,000 Beverly Beall and R. Kemp Riechmann Foundation scholarship, renewable for a second year. 

            Four $500 scholarships from the Rotary Club of North Port were presented to Nhung Ho, Jocelyn Johnson, Julia Smith and Jason Young.

            Jasmine Woodbury won a $300 Peter and Mary Lou Vogt for Excellence in Studio Art award that also entitles her to exhibit her work in the MCC Venice Fine Art Gallery. Woodbury also received two honorable mentions in the Outstanding Student in Art category.

            Certificates were awarded to four members of the MCC Venice Mathematics Olympics team. The team won first place in the small college division in statewide competition. Team members are Joy D'Andrea, Minh Luu, Brian McDonald and Cong Pham.

            Image award winners recognized for their ability to overcome barriers and their contributions to the life and work of the college are Sharon Eisele and Cale Stevens.

Page Edit