MCC Administrators & Students Win Awards at State Conference

(Bradenton, Fla., March 15, 2006) -- Manatee Community College (MCC) administrators and students won awards at the 39th Joint Mathematical Association of American (MAA) and Florida Two Year College Mathematics Association (FTYCMA) conference held Feb. 17 through 18 at Florida Atlantic University, Jupiter.

Dr. Michael Mears, dean of mathematics, business, science and technology, received the MAA Florida Section's Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Dennis Runde, chair, mathematics department, received the FTYCMA's Outstanding Teaching Award. MCC students Cody Hadley and Thomas Dodge took first- and second-place honors in the integration contest.

Runde also presented a session on "Just How Big is Our National Debt?" and Mears co-presented a session, with MCC faculty members Dr. Nancy Johnson and Jana Bryant, on "Engaging Your Students and Helping Them Become Rocket Scientists." MCC faculty member Dr. Craig Hardesty gave a presentation about "The Significant Yet Overlooked Role of Personality in the Mathematics Classroom."

MCC faculty member John Waters, FLMAA secretary-treasurer, helped organize the conference. Other faculty members who attended are Davidson Pierre and Altay Õzgener.

Page Edit