MCC Theatre Honorary Presents Awards

(Bradenton, Fla., May 10, 2005) -- The Manatee Community College (MCC) chapter of Delta Psi Omega, a national theatre honorary fraternity for community colleges, held its 39th Annual Awards Banquet May 5 at the El Conquistador Country Club. Kenneth Erickson Jr., director of the theatre program, and James Thaggard, box office manager, inducted four students into the fraternity and presented 13 awards for acting and technical achievement in the past season.

The department's highest honor, the Directors' Award, was presented to Jennifer Woll. For their roles in The Laramie Project, award-winners are Ben Adams, Outstanding Actor; Hunter Kallenbach and Philip Troyer, Outstanding Supporting Actor (a shared award); and Moira Carroll, Outstanding Character Actress. Kali Blankenship was named Outstanding Actress for her Dancing at Lughnasa role and Outstanding Supporting Actress award for her role in Dearly Departed. Other winners from the latter play are Ryan Urch, Outstanding Character Actor; K. S. Klos, Outstanding Character Actress; Molly Healy, Outstanding Cameo Performance; and Jason Bilesimo, Outstanding Cameo Performer. Healy also was named Most Promising Newcomer and inducted into Delta Psi Omega along with Adams, Bilesimo and Urch. Outstanding Technical Contribution awards went to Matt J. DeSear and Kennedy Cranford.

Also attending the ceremony were Dr. John Rosen, vice president of academic affairs; Ted Camp, chair, fine and performing arts; Kyle Kennedy, fine and performing arts; Doug Osman, fine and performing arts; Ann Hoffman, academic department secretary, Gary Russell, chair, language and literature; and MCC theatre department retirees John W. James and Bernice Pepke.


Page Edit