MCC Team Wins International Exemplary Leadership Award

(Bradenton , Fla.Feb. 8, 2005) - An eight-member Manatee Community College (MCC) Faculty Professional Development Team won a 2005 International Leadership Award from The Chair Academy. The MCC team will be honored March 4 at The Chair Academy's 14th Annual International Conference in Fort Lauderdale.

Members of the winning MCC team are Kathy Biggs, director, instructional technology and distance learning; Gary Russell, chair, language and literature department; Dr. Jeff Hollway, co-activity director, academic development, Title II grant program; Judy Born, librarian; and professors Susan Finlay, Julie Francavilla, Jean Mousseau and Courtney Ruffner.

News of the team's achievement will be published in the 2005 International Exemplary Leadership Awards Booklet, the Chair Academy's spring juried journal, Leadership, and on the Academy's Web site. The award recognizes the team's ability to advance academic and administrative leadership.

"The team played a major part as a change agent in leading MCC through the paradigm shift from teaching to learning. It continues to play a key role in designing and implementing innovative, best-practice faculty development activities," said Darlene Wedler-Johnson, dean, arts and letters & social and behavioral sciences. She nominated the team for the award.

The Chair Academy is dedicated to advancing organizational leadership globally by providing leading-edge training programs for organizational leaders.


Page Edit